## Women and Film History International

Voting meeting minutes Sunday 18 June 2017 Shanghai Minuted by Aimee Dixon, Michele Leigh and Susan Potter

Minutes	Actions
Welcome and thanks Thanks were expressed for all the hard work in putting the conference together.	
Previous 2015 minutes	To be uploaded to the WFHI site and an announcement circulated to the membership
Governance Membership dues There was discussion about having some money already available in WFHI accounts as an aid to raising further funds institutionally (externally and internally). Tami Williams noted that for Domitor, membership pays for website development and translation fees. People don't renew until they attend the conference again. Giuliana suggested a \$15 membership fee to belong, and a higher fee for the conference. The cost of the website was discussed. It currently runs on a free platform (switched to that by Mark Lynn Anderson for the Pittsburgh conference; the Bologna organisers initially paid for the website, and then Leslie also contributed financially. We are voting to allow Steering Committee to propose small amount for fee, and mechanism for maintaining membership. Steering Committee needs to do some work on that. Jenny Horne moved to vote, seconded by Mark Cooper.	

Passed 22 yes/0 nays	Steering Committee to progress fee structure, amount, and mechanism for payment
Governance Roles         There was discussion about roles, when individuals are voted in and then cycle off. It was noted that at the 2015 meeting it was agreed that the executive secretary/president role be split into past, current, future roles, similar to SCMS, to ensure continuity and institutional memory.         Bylaw changes         No motion is required for bylaw changes. The proposal needs to be circulated in advance to members, and then changes need to be passed by 2/3rds of members present at the voting meeting. The Steering Committee can make any other meeting a voting meeting if it announces that in advance. Possibilities include Pordenone, Domitor, and SCMS.         Noted.	Steering Committee to organise additional voting meeting to make bylaw changes to reflect changes in fees, names of roles, and new cycle of roles (past, present, future)
<ul> <li>Elections for officers and Steering Committee membership</li> <li>1. Future President Minette HIllyer nominated by Mark Cooper. Accepted and unanimously voted in.</li> </ul>	

<b>Meeting closed</b> Mark Cooper moved to close the meeting.	
<b>2019 conference</b> The next conference venue and co-hosts were announced: the EYE Filmmuseum, Amsterdam. Without a university hosting the next conference, it was noted that the Steering Committee will have a more active role in co-hosting the conference.	WFHI Steering Cmte in conversation with EYE (jan/feb 2018)
<ul> <li>Noted that other members are:</li> <li>Current President (elected 2015) Aimee Dixon</li> <li>Past President (elected 2013) Susan Potter</li> <li>Previous and future conference organisers: Mark Lynn Anderson, Yiman Wang, Chuanfa Wan, Giovanna Fossati, Elif Rongen-Kaynakçi</li> </ul>	
<ol> <li>Membership Coordinator Current Membership Secretary Kirsten Anderson Wagner nominate and unanimously voted in.</li> <li>Members at Large: Jenny Horne, Drake Stutesman and Michele Leigh were nominated and elected as Steering Committee ad hoc members.</li> </ol>	